March 29, 2024, 10:06:59 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: MBA after PhD  (Read 1731 times)

Offline jeffmoonchop

• Mole Snacks: +37/-5
MBA after PhD
« on: January 03, 2020, 11:51:06 AM »
Hi all, I completed my PhD a couple of years ago and am currently working in industry for a great company. I'm always looking for ways to accelerate my career and thought about doing an MBA online. Anyone have any experience with this, whether its worth it, or general advice?

Some have told me that very few people have PhD MBA so would stand out when applying for director level positions. Would I still be considered for high level positions with around 7 years industry experience (by the time I finish the MBA)? I currently have 4 years industry experience, two prior to PhD and 2 after.

cheers,

Paul

Offline pcm81

• Mole Snacks: +12/-3
Re: MBA after PhD
« Reply #1 on: January 14, 2020, 09:51:26 PM »
Hi all, I completed my PhD a couple of years ago and am currently working in industry for a great company. I'm always looking for ways to accelerate my career and thought about doing an MBA online. Anyone have any experience with this, whether its worth it, or general advice?

Some have told me that very few people have PhD MBA so would stand out when applying for director level positions. Would I still be considered for high level positions with around 7 years industry experience (by the time I finish the MBA)? I currently have 4 years industry experience, two prior to PhD and 2 after.

cheers,

Paul
The most correct answer to your question is: it is a definite maybe.