April 16, 2024, 01:42:16 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Need some help for my future!!!  (Read 1344 times)

Offline mimickson

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Need some help for my future!!!
« on: January 16, 2020, 01:19:49 PM »
I'm a sophomore in high school who wants to get into biochem and I'm currently taking precalc. Thing is, I really do not like math. I managed to get an 89 my first quarter and unfortunately this last quarter isn't going so well for me. I'll probably end up with a 70 or something. I'm starting to wonder if I should take calculus next year or not, and if this is going to affect my chances of getting into a biochemistry course in college. Also when I say I don't like math, it's because I don't like doing math on its own/for school, but when I'm applying it to science I don't mind doing it. Any help is appreciated

Offline jeffmoonchop

• Mole Snacks: +37/-5
Re: Need some help for my future!!!
« Reply #1 on: January 16, 2020, 01:23:09 PM »
You can easily get a job without doing much math. when you need to do it you do it when applying to science. Especially with biochem you wont be doing much at all.

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +320/-22
Re: Need some help for my future!!!
« Reply #2 on: January 16, 2020, 01:26:26 PM »
On the one hand, mathematics (including calculus and simple differential equations) has helped me as a practicing biochemist.  The take-home message is that you never know what intellectual tools you will need when doing research.  On the other hand, I would be careful about what inferences one should draw from performance in one high school course.  In other words, you may do better in a different course.