March 28, 2024, 08:49:45 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Choosing studies at university:doubts  (Read 2879 times)

Offline vi.neon

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Choosing studies at university:doubts
« on: February 04, 2020, 11:17:48 AM »
I am a student about to choose their studies at university - high school will be over by June/July - but I have many doubts about it. I would like to continue with chemistry and I would love to find a job in the future that both stimulates and encourages me to keep learning more and more, so I guess that becoming a researcher would fit me best.

My main doubt is wether I will be able to maintain a job like that or not once I managed to enter the field, because I heard a lot of situations in which people had to give up research due to a low salary to make do with a "B plan".

I only know that other options could be a job in an analysis laboratory, teaching or working with cultural goods. Naturally I have never had any experience (just a month in an analysis lab) so I can't say with absolute certainty that I wouldn't like them, but talking with teachers and reading informations on the internet I have the feeling they would not fit me, or perhaps not as a main job.

My question is if someone could tell me the probability of giving up research due to this reason, or also explain me some other aspects of a career in chemistry I didn't mention, or just an advice.

Thanks!

p.s. I hope everything is clear and that this is the right place where to ask this...

Offline jeffmoonchop

• Mole Snacks: +37/-5
Re: Choosing studies at university:doubts
« Reply #1 on: February 04, 2020, 12:13:51 PM »