April 28, 2024, 03:53:42 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Ortho-nitration of benzaldehyde  (Read 4079 times)

Offline willijung1

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Ortho-nitration of benzaldehyde
« on: February 19, 2020, 05:12:19 AM »
I am a high school student who is interested in organic chemistry.
I was searching for syntheses of indigo when I came across two interesting papers on ortho-nitration of benzaldehyde.

This is the first one:
Synthesis of 2-nitrobenzaldehyde
Concentrated HNO3 (5 mL) was cautiously added to the benzaldehyde at 0 degrees Celsius. Then the mixture was stirred for 40 min at 15 degrees Celsius. On pouring the reaction mixture into ice water, insoluble material precipitated. The precipitate was filtered out to afford the crude product.
Yield: 90%; yellow colour compound; mp: 42 degrees Ceisius; IR (KBr, cm1): CHO (1685), C–N (1227), C–H aromatic (3122), C=C aromatic (1574), NO2 (1337 symmetric), NO2 (1500 asymmetric).

Now when I saw this for the first time, I was rather skeptical because they did not provide the amount of benzaldehyde or the NMR spectra values. Also, the reaction looked unlikely since sulfuric acid was not added.

That was until I managed to search up another paper they mentioned in the references section:

5-(Benzyloxy)-4-methoxy-2-nitrobenzaldehyde (3a)
3-(Benzyloxy)-4-methoxybenzaldehyde (10 g, 41 mmol) was added cautiously to 40 mL of concentrated nitric acid at 0 ºC. The mixture was then stirred at 15 °C for 40 min. On pouring the reaction mixture into ice water, the precipitate was filtrated to afford 5-(benzyloxy)-4-methoxy-2-nitrobenzaldehyde (10.4 g, 93%) as a yellow solid. Mp 131 ºC (lit[28], mp 133 ºC). 1H NMR (CDCl3): δ 10.4 (s, 1H, CHO), 7.6 (s, 1H, Ph-H), 7.3–7.5 (m, 5H, Ph-H),
7.20 (s, 1H, Ph-H), 5.25 (s, 2H, PhCH2O), 4.0 (s, 3H, CH3O).