March 29, 2024, 03:16:41 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Net Ionic Equations for Acid-Base Reactions  (Read 1989 times)

Offline 1204oscar

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Net Ionic Equations for Acid-Base Reactions
« on: March 13, 2020, 11:05:17 PM »
Hi all,
I am studying for my Chemistry final right now, and I am puzzled by this particular question:

"When hydrocyanic acid (HCN) is added to sodium hydroxide (NaOH), what is the net ionic equation for the reaction that occurs?"

I thought that the answer would simply be
H+ + OH-  ::equil:: H2O
However, the correct answer is
HCN + OH-  ::equil:: CN- + H2O.

Earlier in the course, we were taught that the net ionic equation for any reaction considers aqueous compounds as anions and cations, and therefore if a part of the aqueous compound doesn't react that part stays out of the net ionic equation. Wouldn't that be the case for HCN, since the CN- part of HCN doesn't change? The only reason I could see why that is is that HCN is such a weak acid with a small pKa value that it barely dissociates. If that is the reason why I got this problem wrong, then my question is at what specific pKa value do we no longer consider the dissociation of acids?

Offline MNIO

• Mole Snacks: +12/-3
Re: Net Ionic Equations for Acid-Base Reactions
« Reply #1 on: March 14, 2020, 12:17:26 AM »
The issue is HCN is a weak acid and doesn't completely dissociate.

We do NOT write these equations if a species does not completely dissociate.
   molecular:      1 HCN(aq) + 1 NaOH(aq) ----> 1 H2O(l) + 1 NaCN(aq)
   total ionic:      1 H+(aq) + 1 CN-(aq) + 1 Na+(aq) + 1 OH-(aq) ---> 1 H2O(l) + 1 Na+ + 1 OH-
     net ionic:      1 H(+) + 1 OH(-) ----> 1 H2O(l)

We write this instead...
   molecular:      1 HCN(aq) + 1 NaOH(aq) ----> 1 H2O(l) + 1 NaCN(aq)
   total ionic:      1 HCN(aq) + 1 Na+(aq) + 1 OH-(aq) ----> 1 H2O(l) + 1 Na+(aq) + 1 OH-(aq)
     net ionic:      1 HCN(aq) + 1 OH(-)(aq) ----> 1 H2O(l) + 1 CN-(aq)