Chemistry Forums for Students > Undergraduate General Chemistry Forum

Behaviour of molten metal interacting with polylactic acid

(1/5) > >>

tunkor:
Hello all!

I am kinda shooting in the dark here. I'm a mechanical engineering student with very little knowledge of chemistry. I'm trying to figure out a proces for casting a 3d printed model by directly pouring molten iron (1400C) on top of it.

The model is coated by a ceramic coating and put in a sand container. The molten metal 'interacts' with the PLA model by melting and evaporating(?) the PLA. The metal will take the shape of the 3D printed model inside the ceramic coating shell, leaving a casted product. I have done a few tests which came out decent, I am however eager to know about what exactly happens when these two materials (fluid metal, and PLA) interact with eachother.

What happens to the PLA, how fast does this happen, what kind of rest products are left behind, how much gas does the PLA produce? Information like this would be useful for me to know, to maybe screen for other printing materials other than PLA. I'm basically trying to analytically see what happens with the material.

For example, I want as little gas production from the material, because this gas needs to leave via the ceramic coating. So if I can screen a material beforehand this would be useful.

Would anyone know how I can figure this out, maybe some useful online tools/databases/literature?

I hope I am asking this in the right place!

Thanks in advance.

Kind regards.

Borek:
By the look of it I would expect decomposition to a mixture of gases (CO, CO2, ethylene, water, some of them at these temperatures would immediately burn on contact with air), and perhaps some elemental carbon (which can easily dissolve in the iron). Assuming simple decomposition to CO2 and ethylene simple stoichiometry is all you need to calculate amounts.