March 28, 2024, 03:10:03 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Thermo-responsive / Thermo-sensitive plastics  (Read 1854 times)

Offline zoltan.adorjan

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Thermo-responsive / Thermo-sensitive plastics
« on: March 31, 2020, 07:55:30 AM »
hello all,

I am an artist not a chemist so please excuse me for asking a potentially obvious question.

I am looking for polymers or any kind of 'plastic' that reacts to temperature change. To give you more detail the temperature changes would be relatively minimal - imagine a room getting warmer and colder. But in line with that, the reaction could be relatively minimal too, all I am looking for is a noticeable expansion or contraction of the material.

Is there anything out there that I could find, similar in nature?

Best,
Zoltan

Offline wildfyr

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +203/-10
Re: Thermo-responsive / Thermo-sensitive plastics
« Reply #1 on: March 31, 2020, 09:17:19 AM »
Metal is easier, would that work?

Offline billnotgatez

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +223/-62
« Reply #2 on: March 31, 2020, 05:34:24 PM »
Temperature range?

noticeable expansion or contraction of the material
Range of how much do you think would be noticeable?

Offline Enthalpy

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +304/-59
« Reply #3 on: April 01, 2020, 08:21:23 AM »
A phase change is more sensitive to temperature. The second choice would be a gas. A solid or a liquid are much worse. That's why usual engines uses gases or vapours, not solids.

If you can have a hermetic enclosure for the vapour, evaporation makes a huge volume change. Mixtures evaporate over a temperature range.

Melting can make a usable volume change. Paraffins are known for that and used at thermostats for room heaters. Melting occurs over some degrees range. The paraffin's mixture composition controls independently where melting begins and ends.
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Wax_thermostatic_element