April 26, 2024, 08:09:23 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Need help for balancing chemical equation  (Read 2495 times)

Offline Nadee

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Need help for balancing chemical equation
« on: April 24, 2020, 08:38:30 AM »
Dear friends,

I am trying to balance a chemical equation for Compressed natural gas (CNG) when mixed with air. But I am unable to balance it, since my background is not chemistry.
What I understood till now is CNG has maximum composition of Methane (CH4). So, I calculated using it, but the teacher is saying that I need to use all composition of CNG and balance the equation. I really need your help as I researched for it, but I couldn't find it anywhere. Please see the attachment. I need to balance in this way.

Need your help as soon as possible. Thank you very much in advance.

Kind regards

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Need help for balancing chemical equation
« Reply #1 on: April 24, 2020, 09:32:48 AM »
It is not possible to balance an equation for a mixture.

It is possible to express the process using something that looks like a reaction equation (like you did), but it is not something that classifies as a balanced equation. Not sure what your teacher means.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline Nadee

« Reply #2 on: April 24, 2020, 09:51:45 AM »
Dear Borak,

Ok, for instance now, If you get this question, how will you solve such question ?
The way I did with just Methane (CH4), I used methane quantity as 1 kg. And we know that CNG is composition of Methane, Ethane and propane. what if we divide 1 kg with these 3 quantities with respect to the percentages CNG has these 3 elements. Is it possible ?