April 18, 2024, 11:02:18 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Stretchers as part of the Antibody-Drug Conjugates formulas.  (Read 1415 times)

Offline Ditania

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hello all!!

I'm a translator and I'm trying to understand what a "stretcher" is in order to be able to find a suitable translation. All the texts I've found on the internet talk about the "stretcher" as something well known, but I don't know them!
The text I have to translate talks about methods for making antibody-drug conjugates and a stretcher is part of one of the formulas.
In the text the stretcher is mention as followed:
Str is a stretcher.
In the linker of the Formula, [Str] is selected from the group consisting stretchers based on aliphatic diacids.

Can anybody help me?
Thank you!!!!

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1800/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Stretchers as part of the Antibody-Drug Conjugates formulas.
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2020, 02:59:31 AM »
I would ask biochemists using the language you are translating to.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +321/-22
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2020, 07:12:11 AM »
https://mappingignorance.org/2017/11/27/antibody-drug-conjugates-fine-example-team-work/

A "linker" joins an antibody to a drug.  I am not sure that this is what you mean.

Offline rolnor

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +149/-10

Offline Ditania

« Reply #4 on: July 06, 2020, 09:04:47 AM »
https://mappingignorance.org/2017/11/27/antibody-drug-conjugates-fine-example-team-work/

A "linker" joins an antibody to a drug.  I am not sure that this is what you mean.

Yes, I understand that the linker joins an antibody to a drug. But what about the stretcher? Is the stretcher some kind of linker?

Offline Ditania

« Reply #5 on: July 06, 2020, 09:06:51 AM »
Is it this you mean?