March 28, 2024, 04:46:49 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Disposal of Manganese heptoxide  (Read 7044 times)

Offline Raggedy_Skainsmate

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Disposal of Manganese heptoxide
« on: October 09, 2020, 06:24:49 PM »
Hello dear chemists, I'm a second year student and I've made a little (huge) mistake.

In my lab work today I had to dissolve potassium permanganate on water, but the beaker I took was filled with concentrated sulfuric acid for a later experiment. When pouring the permanganate, manganese heptoxide formed.
It was only until I was on my way home that I understood what had formed. By advice of the teacher I left the beaker on the fume hood so that on my next day at the lab (Tuesday) I disposed of it correctly (she didn't know what it was at the time either since I hadn't determined what the beaker had yet).

After researching on the Web, I am very sure  it is indeed heptoxide, and this raises many issues, mainly that it's an explosive.

I ultimately prepared accidentally 25mL, and when researching the compound there's numerous instances saying "don't upscale the reaction as it might explode".

My question is:

- how do I dispose of this safely?
- should I be concerned of it suddenly exploding before Tuesday?

Online Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Disposal of Manganese heptoxide
« Reply #1 on: October 10, 2020, 04:02:47 AM »
How concentrated was the acid?
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +526/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Disposal of Manganese heptoxide
« Reply #2 on: October 13, 2020, 02:49:18 PM »