March 28, 2024, 03:58:56 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Phase change entropy  (Read 3289 times)

Offline AzeoPoint20

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Phase change entropy
« on: August 19, 2020, 07:47:16 AM »
Hi everyone!

I am an Italian Pharmaceutical Chemistry student and I am preparing for the Physical Chemistry exam. While solving some exercises I got in trouble with one in particular, I'll translate it from Italian:

"A compound melts at 146 °C (419.15 K) and its enthalpy of fusion is 32 kJ/mol. Thermal capacities (Cp) of the solid and liquid are respectively 19 J/(K mol) and 28 J/(K mol). Calculate the entropy of fusion at 25 °C (298.15 K)."

The first thing I thought to solve the exercise is to use Kirchhoff's Equation (relation between enthalpy and temperature) to find the enthalpy of fusion at 298.15 K and then divide it by the temperature (in this case 298.15 K) to get the ΔS of fusion I need. See attached image at point (1) – the result appears to be incorrect.

Fortunately my book has solved exercises and they propose the method of point (2) of the image.

My question is - really something that doesn't let me sleep at night - why can't I use my method, or better, why the two methods do not give the same result? Am I missing something about theory? (I must admit that we have not been given a lot of instruments to understand what we are doing, in many cases they just told us: "It is so").

The only explanation I could give myself is that Kirchhoff's equations doesn't work in this cases because the entropy of heating and cooling aren't calculated just by dividing by T the enthalpies of cooling and heating.

Thank you in advance!

Alberto

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +526/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
Re: Phase change entropy
« Reply #1 on: August 19, 2020, 09:53:57 AM »