April 24, 2024, 08:37:16 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Problem in purification of Tris(2,4,6-triisopropylphenyl)phosphine (Tipp3P)  (Read 745 times)

Offline jjjj21

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
I am trying to synthesize Tris(2,4,6-triisopropylphenyl)phosphine (Tipp3P). I have no experience on phosphine chemistry except few days before I synthesize Mes3P. This synthesis went quite well and was able to recrystallise it from EtOH. For Tipp3P, however, I was following this protocol (doi.org/10.1021/ja027493n) and in the last step I'm not able to recrystallise the phosphine from oil (added an image). Even, I tried other solvents like dry EtOH, EtOH/hexane mixture, but oil stays as it is. Has anyone has experience in such kind of synthesis? I checked the crude 31P-NMR, it showed single peak which corresponds to my phosphine but the 1H-NMR was black forest. Please help me!

Offline phth

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +39/-4
Re: Problem in purification of Tris(2,4,6-triisopropylphenyl)phosphine (Tipp3P)
« Reply #1 on: September 01, 2020, 03:51:31 PM »
Do a hot crystallization from ethanol. Water may assist the recrystallization! Cool it down if that doesn't work, and use a stir bar if you see two layers because the solvent and oil must be thoroughly mixed. Use a two neck RBF with teflon (1.5-2x turn) which is as good as vacuum grease ~80% of the time (U can measure if you don't believe me)

Offline Guitarmaniac86

• Mole Snacks: +31/-2
  • Medicinal Chemist
Re: Problem in purification of Tris(2,4,6-triisopropylphenyl)phosphine (Tipp3P)
« Reply #2 on: September 01, 2020, 04:33:18 PM »
Do you have access to a sonicator? The last few compounds (not phosphines mind) that I made should have been solids but they were oils because solvent was trapped in it despite being under vacuum. I suspended my compounds in either MeOH or MeCN (specific to the compounds Im working on) and put them in the sonicator for an hour, and voila, solid.