Specialty Chemistry Forums > Other Sciences Question Forum

Acid-Base Theory Formalism

(1/3) > >>

DGauss:
When studying the formal theory of acids and bases I came across equations for pH of general acid-base titrations in the work of Robert de Levie.

All articles present the same formalism basically, a good succinct example which shows coverage of acids, bases, ampholytics, and salts, can be found in

* de Levie, Robert. "A general simulator for acid-base titrations." Journal of chemical education 76.7 (1999): 987.
I'm a newbie here so not sure if the better practice would be for me to provide pictures of the equations for example...

My question is, how general is this formalism. In particular, how to define 'total analytical concentration' C for components which are present from multiple different sources.  Say for example I mix $C_a$ (NH4)2HPO4 with $C_b$ NH4H2PO4.

The analytical concentration starting for NH4 is $2C_a+C_b$ right? But how do we handle the computation for HPO4 and H2PO4, is it

[tex]
C_a* F(HPO4) + C_b* F(H2PO4)
[/tex]

or is it

[tex]
(C_a+C_b) *(F(HPO4) + F(H2PO4))
[/tex]

Borek:
No idea what you mean by F.

Can't check the original de Levie paper at the moment, but total analytical concentration of 'phosphoric acid' is just Ca+Cb in this case.

DGauss:
Since someone's biting maybe I am allowed to post pictures from the original paper.

Bit that got cut off saying 'here $p$ denotes the maximum number of dissociable protons an acid or base can accommodate...'.

From the examples de Levie gives I understand that p,q differ between salts and say acids. Phosphoric acid would have p=3, q=3 but if you are putting H2PO4- in solution you start with p=3, q=2 in the F equation.

My question is just, whether is valid to treat contributions from different sources of chemically identical species this way. If so that would be C_a* F(HPO4) + C_b* F(H2PO4) as I put in first post.

Borek: