April 24, 2024, 10:07:44 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: College Question: Forensic Chemistry Degree Grades  (Read 6181 times)

Offline mb85

• Mole Snacks: +0/-1
  • I'm a mole!
College Question: Forensic Chemistry Degree Grades
« on: August 15, 2006, 02:00:30 PM »
Hello everyone.

As of right now, my cum gpa is a 3.16. However, i recently found out that my gpa within my forensic chemistry major is a 2.75. I was actually suprised to see that and now im rather nervous about the future. btw, i am a junior.

My question is... How much does your gpa affect potential job oppurtunities? I realize that for graduate school most want a 3.00 or 3.33 + gpa.

The reason for my low gpa within my major is from my calculus 1 and 2 grades. (C- and C+ @ 4 credits each can butcher anyones gpa).
However, i feel like my core chemistry grades are rather good.

Gen. Chem 1 - C (i will blame the terrible teacher, who has since retired. thank goodness.)
Gen. Lab - A-
Gen chem 2 - A (transfer credits, so doesnt apply towards gpa.)
Gen. Bio - B
Organic 1 - B+
Organic 2 - B
Analytical Chem - B+
Anal. Lab - A-
Physics 1 - B-
Microbiology - A- (transfer credits, so doesnt apply towards gpa)

I mean i dont think those are horrible grades. I worked my ass off to get those and will continue to. But i feel like my gpa is making it seem like i have done nothing.

I think i just need some reassurance or enlightenment into the significance of gpas and that my grades are acceptable for my major currently. Im taking P-chem in the fall and at this point, i need a mental boost.

Any insight would be greatly appreciated. thanks in advance.

Offline Dude

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +42/-9
  • I'm a mole!
Re: College Question: Forensic Chemistry Degree Grades
« Reply #1 on: August 16, 2006, 08:00:41 AM »
My two cents:

In my experience, the most important factors affecting getting and keeping a job (industry or academic) are:

1.  Where you went to school
2.  Social ability
3.  Grades