April 17, 2024, 10:42:53 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Calculate amount of chlorophyll in each cm2 of leaf material  (Read 6855 times)

Offline redtree

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Calculate amount of chlorophyll in each cm2 of leaf material
« on: October 14, 2012, 04:37:59 PM »
Hello everyone,

I'm in my first year of uni and already struggling with my chemistry classes. I've been hours trying to figure out the answer but I just can't, I'm stuck and can't move forward.
The did a practical the other day with using a spectrophotometer to measure the absorbance of pigments of a leaf and now we need to answer some questions about it. The question goes as follows:
calculate the amount of chlorophyll in each cm2 of the leaf, knowing that you can calculate the dilution factor with the volume of leaf extract you started with and the amount of extract at the end of the process.

I already calculated the amount of chlorophyll in 1 ml of 80% acetone, and I used 5 cm2 of leaf.

I didn't come here to find someone who can do my work for me. I just want to know who to do this, I'm sure its very simple but right now I seem unable to work it out. If anyone can help I'd really appreciate it. Thanks

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1800/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Calculate amount of chlorophyll in each cm2 of leaf material
« Reply #1 on: October 14, 2012, 05:01:15 PM »
We won't be able to help not knowing the procedure you have followed.

Generally speaking you need to calculate how much chlorophyll was there in the 2 cm2 of the leaf that you used, then multiply it by the ratio of surfaces. Or you can calculate surface concentration of chlorophyll (amount per one square centimeter) and multiply it by the 5 cm2. Many ways of skinning that cat.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline redtree