April 24, 2024, 11:36:43 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Need help: Experiment in a bag  (Read 1165 times)

Offline wmolina

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Need help: Experiment in a bag
« on: January 05, 2021, 02:50:51 AM »
Hi! I'm trying to take a video recording experiment of chemical change. Baking soda is to be mixed in calcium chloride inside a ziplock bag. Then phenol red is added. The solution reacts by changing from red to yellow. I currently don't have any phenol red in my lab, haven't been able to update our inventory ever since the pandemic hit. Are there alternatives I can use for phenol red? I've tried phenolphthalein and I'm not getting any changes.

I should probably mention that I am not a chemist by profession, I'm a biologist and I admit this is quite a gray area for me despite how "easy" the experiment seems.

Hoping for any kind of advice. Thanks.

Offline billnotgatez

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +223/-62
Re: Need help: Experiment in a bag
« Reply #1 on: January 05, 2021, 06:14:51 AM »
There is a list here

pH indicator
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PH_indicator

Naturally occurring pH indicators
https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/PH_indicator#Naturally_occurring_pH_indicators

Red cabbage maybe

Let us know how you make out
« Last Edit: January 05, 2021, 06:33:36 AM by billnotgatez »

Offline AWK

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +555/-93
Re: Need help: Experiment in a bag
« Reply #2 on: January 05, 2021, 07:23:21 AM »
What are you going to get from this experiment? The pH of the NaHCO3 solution is about 8, the pH of the CaCl2 solution is 4-8 depending on the preparation method. Depending on the molar ratios you will get an intermediate pH. A white precipitate will form upon heating. Phenolphthalein will remain colorless, red cabbage juice will change color slightly.