March 28, 2024, 09:58:58 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Separating Mixtures?  (Read 6792 times)

Offline impulse29

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Separating Mixtures?
« on: October 04, 2006, 08:59:08 PM »
For my organic chemistry class, I had a question on my previous test that asked which reagent I would use to separate mixtures. It gave a list of some reagents (I didn't get the question, so I thought I'd memorize the components). THe reagents to choose from were water, CH3CH2OCH2CH3 (diethyl ether), 1M NaOH, and 1M HCl. 

I assume that if I want to separate the mixture, and _keep_ the componds, they must be insoluble?
Because I am not good at making structures on the computer, I will give the name for them:
1. benzoic acid
2. Benzyl-aminochloride +1 (benzene ring with a NH3Cl+ added)
3. Benzanol
4. The same thing as 2. except it is not aromatic. just a cyclohexane.

Thanks for any help. I was really stuck. There's another question, but I can't think of it right now.

Offline mike

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +121/-35
Re: Separating Mixtures?
« Reply #1 on: October 04, 2006, 09:10:58 PM »
You need to check the solubilities of the different compounds in water and diethyl ether. Polar compounds will dissolve in water and can be separated from non-polar compounds which will dissolve well in diethyl ether. One example of how to use the NaOH is benzoic acid, which is soluble in ether, however when reacted with NaOH it forms a benzoate salt which will be soluble in water... get where I am going with this?
There is no science without fancy, and no art without facts.

Offline impulse29

« Reply #2 on: October 04, 2006, 10:04:25 PM »