April 19, 2024, 04:34:37 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Findout Ka theoretically  (Read 1282 times)

Offline jackwhacky

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Findout Ka theoretically
« on: February 07, 2021, 09:13:09 AM »
Hello.

I'm studying my chemistry course and this is the last lab that we have to do. The problem is that I'm studying from home and I have zero friends or teachers to help me. The lab I'm doing is based on a really bad video that the school provided and I'm doing my best to solve it.

I need to find out Ka theoretically and not from the graph.

We are performing a titration of a weak acid HAc (0,0975 mol/dm3) with NaOH. I am aware that the values in the graph are probably wrong which is due to the bad video that I MUST take my values from, so it's not my fault and I have to discuss this in my lab.

Here I calculate Ka from the graph with known pH:

Here I calculate Ka theoretically using the initial value of pH=4.08 from the graph:

My question is am I using the right method to find it out theoretically?

Obviously such a HUGE difference in values. I have no idea where to go from here. Is this even right?

Thank you so much. My future hinges on the lab. I'm ready to provide explanations if required.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1800/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Findout Ka theoretically
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2021, 01:16:20 PM »
I see nothing seriously wrong with your approach, the numbers you got are as good as the data you are basing calculations on.

The only thing you can correct is the use of 0.0974 as a concentration of HAc. Never round down intermediate results, round down only the final one.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline jackwhacky

« Reply #2 on: February 07, 2021, 01:33:25 PM »