March 29, 2024, 11:28:41 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: How are truly unknown compounds and its Lewis structure identified?  (Read 1022 times)

Offline Lorem Ipsum

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hello I'm still learning Organic Chemistry and I created an account just for asking this question. I have not been able to find the answer online.

I feel like it's circular reasoning to use a "spectra" or "peak" to determine or qualify what a compound is. In IR spectroscopy, the spectra of an unknown is compared to a database of known compounds spectra. But how did we determine what the compound and it's Lewis structure is what that specific spectra is?

In GC/MS which is the gold standard, I don't see how you can go from "peaks" to a Lewis structure. From my research, at best you can identify what elements are in there, but not how they're arranged.

Some and probably a majority of compounds have no spectra. What happens when the unknown substance has no matching spectra or peaks? And how do you go from spectra/peaks to a Lewis structure?

I feel like we just take scientists/chemists word that the spectra is what the Lewis structure shows.

In any of these cases you never get to see what the compound looks like. Atomic Force Microscope, while limited in most cases and it doesn't tell us what elements are present, at least shows a general idea of the shape or Lewis structure looks like. Such as in this - https://science.sciencemag.org/content/sci/342/6158/611/F1.large.jpg

I hope I made sense. I tried to research this but nothing made sense. Perhaps link me to an article or video that explains my predicament, that would be great. Thanks!

Offline CLS

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Re: How are truly unknown compounds and its Lewis structure identified?
« Reply #1 on: March 25, 2021, 06:25:19 PM »
Wow that atomic force microscopy is a new thing for me, thanks for the link!