March 28, 2024, 03:24:47 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Olivine dissolution reaction : discrepancy kinetic model with pH measurement  (Read 789 times)

Offline pbuis

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
I am studying the dissolution of Forsterite (olivine). I used the assumptions hereunder to predict the concentration in Mg 2+ but the result is completely inconsistent with prediction from kinetics. Could someone tell me what is wrong in the assumptions I used?  See the attached file.

Mg2SiO4 + 4H2O + 4 CO2  ------ H4 SiO4 + 4 HCO3- + 2 Mg 2+  (reaction A)

Based on experimental data, the pH is 9,8, at 20°C after 1 day. I used extra pure water to conduct the experiment. According to the kinetic model , based on the particles size, I expect to reach a concentration of 2,40E-04 in Mg 2+. This is an order of magnitude as there is a large uncertainty on the kinetic model.
I have the following chemical elements to consider (“a” = concentration in CO2 aq, etc…)

CO2 aq   a     Mg2+    d    H2SiO4 2-   h
HCO3-   b     H4SiO4    e    OH-                    k
CO3 2-   c     Si02    f    CT                     a + b + c
H+                 H3SiO4 -    g    Tot Si                =e + f + g + h

In addition I have the following equilibrium (1 to 8) plus relation Mg to Si from (reaction A) (9):
(1)   CO2 aq with CO2 g in the atmosphere (provides “a”  concentration in CO2 aq / K0 = 0, 0396)
(2)   CO2 aq with HCO3 - / K1 = 4,2E-07 (provides “b”  concentration in HCO3- knowing “a”)
(3)   HCO3 – with CO3 2- / K2 = 4,3E-11 (provides “c”  concentration in CO3 2- knowing “b”)
(4)   SiO2(s) + 2H2O = H4SiO4 (aq) ; K1a = 10-2,7 
(5)   H4SiO4 (aq) + H2O = H3SiO4- (aq) + H3O+(aq)  K2a = 3,162E-10
(6)   H3SiO4- (aq) + H2O = H2SiO4 2- + H3O+(aq)  / K3a = 2,512E-13
(7)   The equilibrium of electrical charges b + 2c + g + 2h + k = [H+] + 2d
(8)   [H+] * [OH -] = Kw = 1E-14