April 24, 2024, 01:08:25 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Total newbie question about chemical formulas  (Read 1537 times)

Offline anmb

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Total newbie question about chemical formulas
« on: April 28, 2021, 12:12:22 PM »
I am at the end of my career and did not pay attention to chemistry at school and now have an interest in MOF technology - I have seen a formula and wondered how/where I can find, total newb information, as to what it means.

this is the formula: ho2c-c6h4-co2h+zn(no3)2 then an arrow zn4o(o2c-c6h4-co2)3 = mof-5

I type in ho2c and get a result dicarboxylic acid

I assume the symbols denote chemicals that are used together and the arrow is the result of this action - am I right?
what is the - + arrow sign denoting ?
how do I find what the process involved in producing the equation result is?

thanks for your understanding of my lack of knowledge

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Total newbie question about chemical formulas
« Reply #1 on: April 28, 2021, 01:43:26 PM »
Note: capitalization is important here, as well as correct use of indices.

This is more or less standard way of writing reaction equations.

HO2C-C6H4-CO2H is one of the isomers of the phthalic acid (there is not enough information to tell which one):

OC(=O)c1ccccc1C(=O)O

O=C(O)c1cccc(C(=O)O)c1

O=C(O)c1ccc(C(=O)O)cc1

"-" doesn't actually mean anything particular, it is sometimes used to denote bonds in organic compounds, but its not really needed.

Zn(NO3)2 is zinc nitrate.

Notation

A + B :rarrow: C

means - these on the left react producing these on the right. Typically there will be some numbers used to balance the equation (make it consistent with the real amounts of substances reacting).
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline anmb