March 29, 2024, 06:16:18 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Putting particles / grains on the microscope slide  (Read 2297 times)

Offline misiekuba

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Putting particles / grains on the microscope slide
« on: May 18, 2021, 01:56:16 PM »
Good morning,

I am new to this forum and I am not a chemist. So it is possible that the answer to my question is child's play. However, this does not change the fact that I do not know this answer and for me it is a considerable barrier at the moment. Therefore, I am asking for some advice or a hint.

I would like to place as few small particles / grains as possible on the microscope slide, such as those found in flour or dust. And if possible, I would like to limit myself to one particle / grain.

The thing is, I am a hobbyist who has to buy all the equipment out of my own pocket. That is why I am not asking about any sophisticated but expensive solutions that I cannot afford. I am asking for something relatively easy to use and cheap to buy.

Can anyone advise me on this matter?

Offline jeffmoonchop

• Mole Snacks: +37/-5
Re: Putting particles / grains on the microscope slide
« Reply #1 on: May 19, 2021, 01:30:46 PM »
Separating a grain of flour would be difficult. Perhaps you could try adding some grains to a drop of solvent where the flour is unchanged and suspended, then add a cover slip to the slide.

Offline Corribus

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +526/-23
  • A lover of spectroscopy and chocolate.
« Reply #2 on: May 19, 2021, 01:54:18 PM »
Dispersing particles evenly across a solid substrate is very difficult.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Coffee_ring_effect
What men are poets who can speak of Jupiter if he were like a man, but if he is an immense spinning sphere of methane and ammonia must be silent?  - Richard P. Feynman

Offline misiekuba

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #3 on: May 19, 2021, 02:27:53 PM »
OK, then I will write to you what ideas came to my head during the night. ;)