March 28, 2024, 09:56:42 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Fine Particle Extraction from Solvent  (Read 3210 times)

Offline manc.aero

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Fine Particle Extraction from Solvent
« on: June 18, 2021, 03:45:59 AM »
Hello Chemistry Forums,

I am an aero student, so please go easy on me!

As part of my PhD I am required to be able to take samples of dust with a stick of crystalbond(https://www.agarscientific.com/crystalbond-adhesives), then apply a solvent (acetone) in order to dissolve the crystalbond and extract the dust. The problem is that doing this through a paper filter will start to trap dust in the pores of the filter and will leave me with much less sample than I really need (and the source is very sparse).

Does anyone know of a high yielding technique to extract the particles from the solvent? I have thought about using soxhlet but i dont know if it is the best way to attack the problem?

Thank you all for reading and have a great day

Offline billnotgatez

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +223/-62
Re: Fine Particle Extraction from Solvent
« Reply #1 on: June 18, 2021, 09:59:51 AM »
evaporation?
rotovap?

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +319/-22
« Reply #2 on: June 18, 2021, 10:54:11 AM »
If one removes acetone via rotary evaporation, what will happen to the crystal bond?

Offline billnotgatez

• Global Moderator
« Reply #3 on: June 18, 2021, 12:01:03 PM »
evaporation?
rotovap?

If one removes acetone via rotary evaporation, what will happen to the crystal bond?

My suggestions are wild stabs at a possible answer to the problem and @Babcock_Hall  has rightly called me on them.

But in the spirit of wild debate

Suppose that the crystalbond goes into solution with the acetone.
Suppose the dust particles are then floating in the solution.
Suppose that the dust particles eventually settle to the bottom or are encouraged to go to the bottom via centrifuge.