Specialty Chemistry Forums > Other Sciences Question Forum

C02 pressure spikes

(1/5) > >>

WARRAVEN:
Hello! I actually want to ask a question for a little tid bit of research I want to do. I am a writer for a paintball magazine, and I wish to do an article on the diference between Compressed air and C02. I have taken only a college introductory level of chemistry and an honors level high school chemistry course. I was wondering if anyone could help me find the best way to visually show the pressure, and velocity spikes that would occur due to the C02 being compressed and over several diferent temperatures.
  I have some information(like pressure at a certain temperature, size of the container and all that), and I was going to use the ideal gas constant equation, but I realized that that wouldn't show the inefficiency I wish to show.
  Or if anyone else has any ideas I'd be glad to listen to them. Also, if I do use the help I get from here, I will be sure to mention my thanks in the article itself :) .
  I also know many things already, so don't feel like you have to give me other things, I'm just wondering about showing the velocity spikes graphically(just so noone gets confused or anything like that). Thankyou!

Raven  8)

billnotgatez:
Raven - When you publish your article please post where we can read it here. It seems very interesting.

It seems to me (and I could be wrong) that for the pressures and temperatures you will be operating at - you can use the universal gas equation / ideal gas law and not need Van der Waals equation. You might want to consider discussing the triple point of Carbon Dioxide (it sublimes at standard temperature and pressure). Also remember that air is the combination of the partial pressures of all its constituents. Since I am only interested in atmospheric Carbon Dioxide, I can not be of much more help unless I study it more. You might try
http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Main_Page
and search Ideal Gas Laws.