March 28, 2024, 11:07:45 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Simple distillation Questions  (Read 1157 times)

Offline yip

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Simple distillation Questions
« on: September 25, 2021, 10:40:17 AM »
Hello everyone! I am kinda new to chemistry so please excuse my lack of knowledge in this field hahaha.. anyways I conducted a simple distillation by adding 10ml of ethanol and a non-volatile red colouring to understand the principles of simple distillation.

1)I measured the temperature every minute and noticed that during the process, at one point, the temperature rapidly increased, do you know the reason for that phenomenon?

2)As the distillation ended, I measured and had an amount of around 8ml of collected ethanol in my test tube. Do you know the reason for this error and decreased yield?

3)I was wondering what I could do to improve the efficiency of this simple distillation. I did use Teflon tapes to prevent gas leaks..

4)I heard that the distillation process ends once the temperature inside the flask decreases, by chance, do you know the reason for this?

Thank you!

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +319/-22
Re: Simple distillation Questions
« Reply #1 on: September 25, 2021, 01:34:53 PM »
It is a Forum Rule (see red link above) that you must provide your attempts to answer a question before we can help you.  With respect to point 3, would you explain what you mean by efficiency?  What happened to the red color in this experiment?
« Last Edit: September 25, 2021, 02:23:27 PM by Babcock_Hall »

Offline yip

« Reply #2 on: September 26, 2021, 11:57:46 PM »
Oh I apologize for that. Here are my attempts at the questions.