March 28, 2024, 07:22:50 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: NEED ADVISE! Controlled and repeatable exothermic reaction  (Read 840 times)

Offline JohnnySwede

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
NEED ADVISE! Controlled and repeatable exothermic reaction
« on: October 06, 2021, 05:05:48 AM »
Dear all!

Greetings from Sweden!

I am a super amateur when it comes to chemistry, so please forgive me from the start if this is a truly dumb question or if I'm not formulating the question in a correct way... Anyhow, I'll give it a try since this seems like a both good and nice forum, so here we go:

When you create classic "hot ice" by using a supersaturated solution of sodium acetate C2H3NaO2, the exothermic reaction generates heat at 57 degrees Celsius. Right so far? This process is used for i.e. hand warmers and similar products. This process is, apart from generating heat, non-toxic and repeatable (reheat the crystallized solution and it becomes liquid again and can be re-used). Also right? Now to my question: is there any SIMILAR way to achieve exactly the same but with just a SLIGHTLY higher temperature in the exothermic reaction? Meaning: a process that's non-toxic, repeatable and generating just a little more heat, say 10-20 additional degrees Celsius arriving at 70-70 degrees C or so?

I hope there are some good chemists out there who could enlighten me and assist me in this matter!

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1799/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: NEED ADVISE! Controlled and repeatable exothermic reaction
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2021, 10:30:21 AM »
the exothermic reaction generates heat at 57 degrees Celsius. Right so far?

Nope, already wrong :(