April 23, 2024, 05:50:24 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Some questions about explosive(not synthesis)  (Read 921 times)

Offline Inconspicuous

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Some questions about explosive(not synthesis)
« on: December 06, 2021, 08:09:04 PM »
Hey guys, I am writing a paper about investigating the structural features of explosives, and I looked at some compounds like TNT, RDX, Picric acid. I can tell straight away that the high enthalpy of combustion is due to the presence of nitrogen and oxygen, however, all these compounds have something like a cyclic carbon or nitrogen ring structure found within it, and I want to ask what is it about the presence of these rings that make them so desirable? aren’t delocalised rings supposed to decrease the enthalpy of combustion of the substances? I do not know much about these compounds, as it is my first time learning about explosives. TO reiterate, I am not planning on any synthesis whatsoever. I am simply investigating the features of the molecules which causes it to have a high enthalpy of combustion.

Offline rolnor

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +149/-10
Re: Some questions about explosive(not synthesis)
« Reply #1 on: December 06, 2021, 11:54:32 PM »
I think octanitrocubane is the most powerfull explosive and this containes the very strained cubane-structure. So, its not optimal to have a aromatic ring as in TNT if you want a powerfull explosive but its cheap and stable.

https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Octanitrocubane

Edit: Its the fastest explosive, Iam not sure if its the most powerfull but very strong.

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +321/-22
« Reply #2 on: December 07, 2021, 03:36:29 PM »
Nitroglycerine does not have any rings.  Diacetone dioxide has a six-membered ring, but I am unaware of any strain.
« Last Edit: December 07, 2021, 04:10:49 PM by Babcock_Hall »

Offline rolnor

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +149/-10
« Reply #3 on: December 08, 2021, 01:25:15 AM »