March 29, 2024, 03:39:27 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Which units should I choose relating to radio/nuclear chemistry?  (Read 3166 times)

Offline smallmouse54

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Which units should I choose relating to radio/nuclear chemistry?
« on: February 11, 2022, 02:15:40 AM »
Good afternoon. I have recently been accepted into University for a Bachelors of Science and I am enrolling for a major in chemistry. I am based in Australia and I completed both mathematics and chemistry in High School, although some time has passed since I graduated so I am not as well versed in the topic as I once was.

The issue I am facing is that I am uncertain of which elective units/classes to pursue based on what I want to study. I do not have a specific career in mind, however I have a deep love for radiochemistry or nuclear chemistry as a concept. I also enjoy theory work and analytical work, but I dislike more biological or organic chemistry topics. The trouble is that my University does not offer specific courses in radiochemistry/nuclear chemistry, at least not at an undergraduate level. But I want to still choose courses that may relate to that topic, and may help if I choose to continue into a masters degree.

As I said, however, I am not that well versed so I hope that you might be able to help me out. I have written up a table with the course titles, as well as how many classes I am required to take per group. I will list my thoughts below each one to specify what I am having trouble with.

Core Units (Pick 2 of 4)
- Quantitative Skills with Applications
- Calculus and Linear Algebra 1
- Calculus and Linear Algebra 2
- Introduction to Statistical Modelling