April 18, 2024, 07:29:00 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: on-site isolated intermediate: is SDS needed? (R.E.A.C.H.)  (Read 1151 times)

Offline xshadow

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
on-site isolated intermediate: is SDS needed? (R.E.A.C.H.)
« on: January 21, 2022, 03:09:11 PM »
Hi!

I'm studying R.E.A.C.H regulation but I've a doubt.

If I have a on-site isolated intermediate should I do an SDS for that substance? (safety data sheet)

thanks

Offline sjb

• Global Moderator
  • Mole Snacks: +222/-42
Re: on-site isolated intermediate: is SDS needed? (R.E.A.C.H.)
« Reply #1 on: January 23, 2022, 01:52:16 PM »
Your SOPs may vary but I suggest that if it is isolated, then yes (but maybe treat it with the highest precautions until proven otherwise)

Offline rjb

• Mole Snacks: +17/-0
Re: on-site isolated intermediate: is SDS needed? (R.E.A.C.H.)
« Reply #2 on: January 23, 2022, 05:30:17 PM »
Hi XShadow,

You're not going to like what I'm about to say, but if I were you, then I would be to forget any advice that you might receive on implementation of REACH that you receive from an internet forum. I'm not suggesting that SJB's advice is bad (it's not, it's good advice obviously), but I suspect that you are more specifically concerned about ensuring that you meet any obligations (registration/notifications etc.) under REACH legislation and need to get it right.

REACH is a potential minefield. Given that you described your intermediate as 'on-site isolated', you have clearly done your homework and are already familiar with article 17 and are most probably producing less than 1 tonne of intermediate per annum otherwise the question is somewhat moot! I'm guessing that the question you are asking boils down to whether or not there are any other obligations which may be relevant to your circumstances. The link below is perhaps a good starting point to help address this question and includes a navigator tool which might be helpful.