April 25, 2024, 03:22:03 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Tonicity vs predicted tonicity  (Read 1441 times)

Offline Elciteeve

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Tonicity vs predicted tonicity
« on: January 30, 2022, 02:22:32 PM »
Hello! I'm studying biology and I'm a bit confused by certain situational osmosis problems. The problem type I keep encountering which I keep getting marked as wrong is a scenario like this,

A cell has [2m K+] and [1m glucose]. A solution has [2m glucose] and [1m K+]. The cell membrane is permeable to K+ and impermeable to glucose. The cell is dropped in the solution. What is the tonicity before equilibrium is reached?

Ok, so my understanding is that tonicity is explicitly pertaining to solutes which *can't* permeate the membrane. So essentially the potassium ion is a non factor, ie. the potassium ion can move freely, and therefore it lacks the ability to create tonicity. That would mean that the glucose is the only solute affecting tonicity, therefore the cell would be hypotonic to the solution before equilibrium is achieved. The cell will crenate, water moves out of the cell into the solution to achieve equilibrium.

1.) is this correct?
2.) why or why not?
3.) what are some resources that explain this specific aspect of osmosis more directly? Everything i read just talks about how to calculate osmotic pressure or a basic explanation of what tonicity / osmosis is, and doesn't explain compound variables well, with respect to determining these hypothetical non-real scenarios.

My teacher is a self professed "non biochemist" and her ability to explain is limited in certain areas. I think she maybe has memorized the answer, but doesn't know the "why." Or maybe she does and is sick of me pestering her with questions. Either way, I'd love some help with this.