April 25, 2024, 02:49:41 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Mystery alkane / chemical in treated wastewater sample  (Read 1477 times)

Offline bw58

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Mystery alkane / chemical in treated wastewater sample
« on: April 14, 2022, 07:25:39 AM »
Hi all,
I hope this is the right place to ask this question. I'm a process engineer so I'm not 100% familiar with this chemistry.
In a forward osmosis membrane process we recently found unexpected loss of performance due to damage or fouling (not sure yet).
We use treated wastewater (final effluent) as our feedwater for the process.
To find out what was causing the damage or fouling we sent a sample off for GC-MS analysis. Their automated library search of chemicals identified a relatively strong presence of dodecane but no other alkanes.
Has anyone heard of dodecane being present in wastewater? There is no evidence of any other alkanes. I looked at the treatment process but this site only uses silicone oil and silica as antifoam, and some basic chemicals such as sodium hypochlorite.
Treatment site shows no alkanes being discharged with final effluent.
My questions:
1. How could a chemical such as dodecane end up in wastewater with no other alkanes detected? OR:
2. What kind of chemical could look like dodecane in a GC-MS analysis?

I'm out of thoughts here... The only additional information I have is that when we boiled and condensed a sample, we got an unknown liquid dissolved in the distillate that smelled acrid and had a conductivity far higher than distilled water should have. We also did GC-MS on this sample and found only dodecane and . heptane?
Sample fouling is not possible - multiple samples, multiple GC-MS units.
Oil leak is unlikely - would show way more than alkanes than just dodecane.
What mystery chemical are we dealing with that has a high electrical conductivity and looks like an alkane?
Thanks in advance for any thoughts!

Offline rolnor

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +149/-10