April 27, 2024, 01:47:08 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Unexplained band in IR  (Read 1003 times)

Offline snadders

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Unexplained band in IR
« on: December 10, 2023, 09:36:57 AM »
This is my first time posting here so please let me know if there is anything I could improve!

To get right into it, I have prepared the compound ethyl 2,2-dimethyl-5-phenyl-1,3-dioxolane-4-carboxylate and recorded an ATR-IR spectrum of it. Most of it looks as expected except for a weak but prominent band at 2255 cm -1.

The wavenumber makes me immediately think nitrile or alkyne since they have very characteristic bands in that exact region. The problem is, my compound is neither of those or even resembles anything else that absorbs there. The solvents and reagents used to prepare it should not absorb at that wavenumber either. No literature I can find for my compound includes that band. The compound is reasonably pure according to NMR.

I am at a loss as to what causes this. Are there any common laboratory impurities that could cause the absorption (like silicone grease sometimes showing up in NMR)? Could it really be my dioxolane and nobody else reports the band somehow? Has anyone ever had anything similar happen and can maybe steer me in the right direction of what im missing?

Thanks so much in advance for any help and I'm thrilled to be a part of this community now!

Offline Babcock_Hall

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +321/-22
Re: Unexplained band in IR
« Reply #1 on: December 11, 2023, 03:34:47 PM »
This is a long shot, but do you see a strong signal near 1128 cm-1?
« Last Edit: December 11, 2023, 04:09:38 PM by Babcock_Hall »

Offline snadders

« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2023, 09:27:43 AM »
Thanks for your answer. It's hard to tell, theres a lot going on in that region since I'm dealing with a molecule with a lot of C-O stretches. What is your suspicion? Maybe there are other signals to look for or I could see it in NMR.

Offline Babcock_Hall