April 28, 2024, 06:11:21 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Electrochemical Cells Solutions  (Read 454 times)

Offline TheBucketMan0517

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Electrochemical Cells Solutions
« on: January 12, 2024, 12:36:55 PM »
Hello, I’m a senior high school student hoping to study Chemistry in the fall and I’m completing a “research project” to determine the standard reduction potentials of electrochemical cells. More specifically:
Fe (2+), Sn (2+), Zn (2+), Copper (2+), & Mg(2+).

I’m using the Iron as a “constant” to determine the reduction potentials of the other 4 (since I can’t afford a calomel electrode and my school doesn’t have one) but what I’m wondering is if the solution (specifically the anion) the metal strip of a Voltaic cell matters as long as the cation is 2+. My Penn State professor for gen chem 2 stated that it didn’t matter but my High School chemistry teacher wants me to verify that and I’m sort of lost.

Please help I’m making myself go crazy because I cant find the answer.

Offline Borek

• Mr. pH
  • Administrator
  • Deity Member
  • Mole Snacks: +1801/-410
  • I am known to be occasionally wrong.
    • Chembuddy
Re: Electrochemical Cells Solutions
« Reply #1 on: January 12, 2024, 01:03:58 PM »
what I’m wondering is if the solution (specifically the anion) the metal strip of a Voltaic cell matters as long as the cation is 2+

Honestly, I have no idea what you are asking.
ChemBuddy chemical calculators - stoichiometry, pH, concentration, buffer preparation, titrations.info

Offline TheBucketMan0517

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
« Reply #2 on: January 12, 2024, 04:00:29 PM »
I should have prefaced it with a picture of a Voltaic cell. Does the 1M solution which the metal strip rests in matter as long as the cation is the same metal as the strip?

Offline Hunter2

• Mole Snacks: +167/-48
  • Vena Lausa moris pax drux bis totis
« Reply #3 on: January 12, 2024, 04:29:01 PM »