April 29, 2024, 09:53:11 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: GC - using liquid standards/calibration curve for gas samples  (Read 1309 times)

Offline sas1995

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
GC - using liquid standards/calibration curve for gas samples
« on: February 07, 2024, 09:02:18 AM »
Hello, I am very new to chromatography so I am still learning how to obtain data. Our GC was bought on a budget so no training. I am wondering if a calibration curve using liquid standards can be used to determine gas sample concentrations.

Thanks!

Offline marquis

• Mole Snacks: +35/-3
Re: GC - using liquid standards/calibration curve for gas samples
« Reply #1 on: February 07, 2024, 06:37:41 PM »
Normally, just injecting the materials gives way too strong a peak.  The materials need to be diluted.  The best way to approach this is to look at the samples or materials you will be testing.  They will require standards.  If your calibration department requires nothing else, start with the standards required for your test methods.  Do you know what columns will be needed?  By the way, what columns will you be using and what are your detectors and injectors?  Thanks.

Offline rjb

• Mole Snacks: +17/-0
« Reply #2 on: February 08, 2024, 06:33:01 AM »
Hello, I am very new to chromatography so I am still learning how to obtain data. Our GC was bought on a budget so no training. I am wondering if a calibration curve using liquid standards can be used to determine gas sample concentrations.

It's wonderful when companies make the decision to cheap out by deciding to forego the training isn't it?! I have been in a similar position, but despite all the stress that is no-doubt coming your way, you're going to learn a lot very quickly - which is good - but mostly out of necessity!