Chemistry Forums for Students > Analytical Chemistry Forum

GC - using liquid standards/calibration curve for gas samples

(1/3) > >>

sas1995:
Hello, I am very new to chromatography so I am still learning how to obtain data. Our GC was bought on a budget so no training. I am wondering if a calibration curve using liquid standards can be used to determine gas sample concentrations.

Thanks!

marquis:
Normally, just injecting the materials gives way too strong a peak.  The materials need to be diluted.  The best way to approach this is to look at the samples or materials you will be testing.  They will require standards.  If your calibration department requires nothing else, start with the standards required for your test methods.  Do you know what columns will be needed?  By the way, what columns will you be using and what are your detectors and injectors?  Thanks.

rjb:

--- Quote from: sas1995 on February 07, 2024, 09:02:18 AM ---Hello, I am very new to chromatography so I am still learning how to obtain data. Our GC was bought on a budget so no training. I am wondering if a calibration curve using liquid standards can be used to determine gas sample concentrations.
--- End quote ---

It's wonderful when companies make the decision to cheap out by deciding to forego the training isn't it?! I have been in a similar position, but despite all the stress that is no-doubt coming your way, you're going to learn a lot very quickly - which is good - but mostly out of necessity!

The answer to your question really depends upon what you're trying to achieve, the nature of your sample, what level of accuracy you require and whether your sample is truly a 'gas' phase sample, or whether you're attempting to run headspace samples and want to know the amount of analyte in a liquid or solid sample.