April 26, 2024, 08:11:22 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Increasing Ph of metal salt solutions  (Read 14095 times)

Terry Gallentine

Increasing Ph of metal salt solutions
« on: October 06, 2004, 08:02:54 PM »
I am an artist who has been using metal salt solutions to tone ceramic frits and glazes.  I have been using mainly chlorides (cobalt chloride and manganese chloride) in a saturated solution.  I have been adding these salts to distilled water until saturation occurs to get the solutions that I need.  The problem is that I would like to increase the Ph of these solutions to around 6.5 without dropping much of the metal salts out of solution.  Is this possible and how should I go about it?

Offline Mitch

• General Chemist
  • Administrator
  • Mole Snacks: +376/-3
  • "I bring you peace." -Mr. Burns
    • Chemistry Blog
Re:Increasing Ph of metal salt solutions
« Reply #1 on: October 06, 2004, 08:11:19 PM »
What is the current pH of your solutions?
Most Common Suggestions I Make on the Forums.
1. Start by writing a balanced chemical equation.
2. Don't confuse thermodynamic stability with chemical reactivity.
3. Forum Supports LaTex

Tetrahedrite

« Reply #2 on: October 06, 2004, 09:21:15 PM »
Is the metals dropping out a real or inferred problem? You can't stop metals dropping out at high pH's because of the formation of oxides and hydroxides. Are you using Co(II) or Co(III), Co(II) is more soluble at higher pH's. I have a feeling that the amount of metals ppting out at that pH will be quite small. If you are going to adjust the pH using something such as sodium hydroxide, make sure it is quite dilute to prevent the instantaneos formation of metal hydroxides

Terry Gallentine

« Reply #3 on: October 06, 2004, 11:22:34 PM »