April 20, 2024, 07:59:02 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Interviews for Chemistry.  (Read 8920 times)

Offline Alxy

• Very New Member
  • Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Interviews for Chemistry.
« on: November 21, 2006, 02:46:54 PM »
I'm currently studying for my A2s in England and have recently applied to study Chemistry at Uni.

My interviews are now incumbent: UCL in a week and Oxford 2 weeks later.

I would be greatly interested in other people's experiences of interviews, and appreciative of any advice given.

Oh, and Hi!

Thanks.

Alex.

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
Re: Interviews for Chemistry.
« Reply #1 on: November 21, 2006, 05:32:28 PM »
Oxford interviews (and probably UCL too) will depend on the tutors. Which Oxford college are you interviewing at? I can at least tell you what the tutors are like.

In my interviews at Somerville college, I was required to choose a subject from a list given to me 10 mins before the interview and then talk about it when I got in. The interviewer then stopped me at various points to ask questions.
I had two interviews, I chose something like "electronegativity & bonding" for inorganic, which went very well, and "nucleophiles & electrophiles" for organic, which was ok, but by no means great.

Somerville college doesn't have a physical chemistry fellow, so I didn't have a physchem interview (thank god)

Also bear in mind that this was four years ago.

Rule one - RELAX. I know it's difficult.