March 28, 2024, 02:18:54 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Chemistry Career related question  (Read 6102 times)

Offline xk9x

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Chemistry Career related question
« on: December 12, 2006, 06:06:24 PM »
Hello all. I'd like to start off saying a little bit about myself.
I'm 16, and I enjoy chemistry a lot. It is by far my favorite and one of my best subjects. I do very well in school and currently have a 4.0, and am ranked 3rd in my grade.  I have taken Chemistry I, currently taking Nuclear/Organic Chemistry, and plan on taking AP Chemistry next year (senior year). I am often asked what I want to do when I get older, and to be honest, I'm really not 100% certain. I think I would really like to pursue a career relating to chemistry. Forensics really interests me, and I think I would enjoy doing that for a living. Recently, I have been thinking about pharmaceuticals.

The questions I ask are this:

How is the schooling for forensics and pharmacy? Is it very challenging? Is it the kind of career I could make enough money to support myself and live a comfortable life? Are there any other chemistry related careers that one might suggest?

I greatly appreciate all and any input.  ;D

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
Re: Chemistry Career related question
« Reply #1 on: December 12, 2006, 06:15:46 PM »
You could go into forensics or pharmacy with a chemistry degree, so I'd suggest getting one of those - it keeps your chemistry options open. Also, higher education may give you a clearer idea of what you like most about chemistry.
My research: Google Scholar and Researchgate

Offline deadally

• Mole Snacks: +1/-2
  • I'm a mole!
« Reply #2 on: December 12, 2006, 08:06:42 PM »
I agree, my professors insist that if you want to do anything like forensics, pharamceutical sciences, or the like, you don't need to do the specialized "Pre-" programs.  Plus you do keep your options