April 29, 2024, 08:16:37 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Taking postgraduate studies in US  (Read 5066 times)

Offline elmyhalily13

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Taking postgraduate studies in US
« on: January 05, 2007, 04:57:06 PM »
Hello fellas... I'm a graduate student of BSc Applied Chemistry from outside of US.  I would like to take postgraduate studies in US in the Forensic Chemistry. Currently working as a chemist in the petroleum industry. As part of my job I'm doing lots of analytical testing. My question is am I qualified for postgraduate studies of Forensic Chemistry in US. Do u have any suggestion of the universities i should applied for? TQ for your cooperation.

Offline enahs

• 16-92-15-68 32-7-53-92-16
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +206/-44
Re: Taking postgraduate studies in US
« Reply #1 on: January 07, 2007, 01:28:40 AM »
There are very few schools that offer degrees in "forensic chemistry".
Furthermore, there are even fewer that offer masters degrees in forensic chemistry. Around here, forensic chemistry is generally classified as just a specialized field of analytical chemistry.

If you want to be just a normal forensic lab worker, all you need is a basic chemistry degree, then you must complete what is basically an associates degree (think of that as half a bachelors degree) in the field of forensic chemistry. The specifics of these associates degree vary from state to state (due to different laws). In many states you do not even need a degree in chemistry (or biology) you just need the associates degree. However naturally, the more education you have the better you will be and the more you get paid.