April 20, 2024, 04:19:23 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Where can I start looking for an chemisty internship?  (Read 5424 times)

Offline Amide

• Mole Snacks: +2/-0
Where can I start looking for an chemisty internship?
« on: January 15, 2007, 03:36:32 AM »
Hi everyone!

It's nice to finally find a forum where everyone appreciates chemistry. I'm currently in my 3rd year on my BSc in Chemistry. Summer is coming up (in 4 months) and I'm interested in finding an internship or a chem related job for the summer. I'm not quite sure where to start. I have an analytic and organic background. The oil and gas industry are huge in my city. My University does have a intership program but it's restricted to honors students. I want to try to find a job on my own. How would I start? Where do I start looking? What kind of job can I expect? I'm completely lost when I comes to careers in Chemistry. Thanks in advance for all your *delete me*

[Edit] I just wanted to add that my grades aren't the best (I'm about average, maybe a little below average) and currently, I have no plan to get my PhD, but I'll rethink it after this year.
« Last Edit: January 15, 2007, 03:43:59 AM by Amide »

Offline Dan

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +469/-72
  • Organic Chemist
    • My research
Re: Where can I start looking for an chemisty internship?
« Reply #1 on: January 15, 2007, 09:37:04 AM »
You will probably find this helpful

http://www.faqs.org/faqs/sci/chem-faq/intern/
My research: Google Scholar and Researchgate

Offline enahs

• 16-92-15-68 32-7-53-92-16
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +206/-44
« Reply #2 on: January 15, 2007, 12:48:26 PM »
http://see.orau.org/AcademicStatus.aspx?type=Undergrad

For more then undergrad:
http://see.orau.org/

I have in fact gotten two internships from there in my undergrad career, and I am starting another for this summer, too.