April 29, 2024, 02:27:59 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Taking a break after Undergraduate before Grad School  (Read 15301 times)

Offline dtulmann

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Taking a break after Undergraduate before Grad School
« on: February 03, 2007, 04:04:26 PM »
Hi guys,
I am a Chemical Engineering undergrad, passed out in 2006. I have taken a break for a year and have applied for Fall, 2007 (PHD Chemical Engineering). In the interim 12 months, I pilfered away the first 6 (hush) and the other 6 I'd be working on research projects.
Now I'm a little confused and perturbed. Would the universities frown upon the hiatus or will they consider me just as good?
Help me out people!

Offline hmx9123

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +59/-18
Re: Taking a break after Undergraduate before Grad School
« Reply #1 on: February 09, 2007, 03:25:29 PM »
I don't think any universities are going to care if you took a year off.  If it were 10 years, they might begin to question it, but I think it's common to take a year or so off between undergrad and grad.  I would actually recommend it.  I wish I had.

Offline dtulmann

« Reply #2 on: February 15, 2007, 05:14:28 AM »
Hi hmx,
Thanks dude, one more thing: I was wondering - Why would you recommend it?

Offline s

• Very New Member
« Reply #3 on: February 17, 2007, 08:54:56 PM »
Why do you think that 10 years is too long?

Offline xiankai

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +77/-37
« Reply #4 on: February 24, 2007, 09:14:26 AM »
Why do you think that 10 years is too long?

your education could have been pretty much obsolete by then, i guess
one learns best by teaching

Offline lemonoman

• Atmospheric
  • Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +71/-8
« Reply #5 on: February 24, 2007, 11:09:28 PM »
I was wondering - Why would you recommend it? [taking a year off]