April 27, 2024, 12:05:36 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: My summer options  (Read 4677 times)

Offline Cheemistree8889

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
My summer options
« on: April 20, 2007, 09:54:38 PM »
I'm a 2nd year undergraduate student and I have two options for work this summer.  First I could work for a private company that specializes in synthesizing organic compounds, or I could do reseach for an organic chemist at a university.  I was wondering what would "look" better on a graduate school application?  Also I don't know how much responsibiliy I would be given at either place (personally I want the most I can get) and the university doesn't have very good chemistry graduate progam (I don't know if this really matters).  Any thoughts of what would be a better experience for me?

Offline kristo

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Re: My summer options
« Reply #1 on: April 21, 2007, 11:47:12 AM »
I would say take the research option with the school. I think it offers more advantages. You get research experience, lab experience, you'll be introduced to new techniques. Plus you will see what graduate school will have to offer and what you are in for. At the private company I think they would likely place you in one particular position and you may not learn as much. As far as how either will look on a grad app, I think they would both look good, they will both show that you have some quality experience.

Offline Yggdrasil

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +485/-21
  • Physical Biochemist
« Reply #2 on: April 21, 2007, 07:14:24 PM »