March 29, 2024, 10:05:12 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Some chemical engineering informations  (Read 7076 times)

Offline organoman

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Some chemical engineering informations
« on: August 02, 2007, 12:49:40 AM »
Hi,
I am an organic chemist and have been involved in organic synthesis and process development work for past seven years. Technology transfer from lab to plant scale is a part of my job profile. For this job I need to have some chemical engineering back ground which I don't have.
I want that somebody suggest me some suitable site where I can get some useful information. I don't want all those lengthy equations which are given in most of the engineering books. I have tried to refer to them but failed.
I want some simple information which I regularly need. Some of them I am pointing out bellow.

1- Type of reactors used in chemical industries and their features.
2- Type of impellers used.
3- Some important aspects of fractional distillations.
4- Some important aspects of filtration and various equipments used  for this.
5- Deciding material of constructions (MOC) for various uses.
6- Designing the process etc.

Please suggest me some  reference for this which is suitable from point of view of an organic chemist.
regards,
ORG

Offline Montemayor

• Mole Snacks: +9/-0
Re: Some chemical engineering informations
« Reply #1 on: August 02, 2007, 09:34:49 AM »

ORG:

For an organic chemist, you are not being specific.  You state you “need to have some chemical engineering back ground which I don't have” but yet don’t identify what that background is specifically.  Is it the inability to know what is inside a distillation tower?  Is it a lack of knowledge in how a batch reactor is designed and operated?

If you could list out those items that you believe would strengthen your background and give you some added, worthwhile capability we might recommend more specific sources.