March 28, 2024, 02:01:06 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Becoming an engineer with a Chemistry Degree  (Read 7082 times)

Offline nextpauling

• Mole Snacks: +2/-0
Becoming an engineer with a Chemistry Degree
« on: July 27, 2007, 04:22:34 PM »
What's up everybody!  I am a senior chemistry student at the University of Louisiana at Lafayette, and I'm entertaining a number of different ideas for post-undergraduate plans.  What are the best routes for getting into the chemical engineering field with a chemistry degree?  Would I have to get a second bachelor's in engineering?  Could I apply to a master's engineering program, and if so, what are the employment opportunities for a MS with no engineering bachelor's?  Any information would be greatly appreciated.  Thanks.

Offline nextpauling

Re: Becoming an engineer with a Chemistry Degree
« Reply #1 on: August 20, 2007, 02:15:42 PM »
If nobody has any information do any of you know where i might find it?

Offline eugenedakin

• Oilfield Consulting Chemist
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +88/-2
  • My desk agrees with the law of entropy
    • Personal Website
« Reply #2 on: August 26, 2007, 11:36:19 AM »
Hello nextpauling,

This question has way too many possibilities.  The good news is that it should be fairly easy to go from a chemical background to a chemical engineering background.  Since you already have a good foundation of how chemical reactions occur, it should be easy to understand the engineering side. 

Back in 'the old days', chemical engineering was not a field.  So, chemists performed 'all' chemical work. With specialization being strong in todays market, the bad news is that you *may* need to get your Bachelors in engineering first. 

Employment opportunities strongly depend on the organization which is hiring you.  So, unfortunately, I do not have this answer.  You may need to check with the companies that you are looking for employment, and ask them this same question.