March 28, 2024, 07:10:43 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: a combination of questions  (Read 8973 times)

a combination of questions
« on: December 31, 2004, 02:22:12 PM »
I am studying for my exams. I found some concepts that are confusing me! Can somebody help me? I would appreciate! :)

Quantum
1. Why "matter and energy are not distinct...energy is a form of matter"?

Structure and properties of solids
2.What is a crystal lattice?

3. (i) and (ii) are from my text book, they seem to contradict each other. I don't know which INTERMOLECULAR force is stronger...ionic or network covalent?
Quotes:
Ionic crystals:
(i)"In general, ionic bonding is much stronger than all intermolecular forces"
Covalent network crystals:
(ii)"the overall bonding in the large marcromolecule of a covalent network is very strong -- stronger than most ionic bonding and intermolecular bonding"

4.Is it true that ionic compounds generally have high solubility in water, and molecular compounds generally have low solubility in water?

Thank you :D

purelion

Re:a combination of questions
« Reply #1 on: January 01, 2005, 12:04:34 AM »
I am studying for my exams. I found some concepts that are confusing me! Can somebody help me? I would appreciate! :)

Quantum

Structure and properties of solids
2.What is a crystal lattice?

3. (i) and (ii) are from my text book, they seem to contradict each other. I don't know which INTERMOLECULAR force is stronger...ionic or network covalent?
Quotes:
Ionic crystals:
(i)"In general, ionic bonding is much stronger than all intermolecular forces"
Covalent network crystals:
(ii)"the overall bonding in the large marcromolecule of a covalent network is very strong -- stronger than most ionic bonding and intermolecular bonding"

4.Is it true that ionic compounds generally have high solubility in water, and molecular compounds generally have low solubility in water?

Thank you :D
it is true.because the water is ...

maybe.i am not sure.i think it is.