April 29, 2024, 12:03:09 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: polymer which softens at about 60C  (Read 6918 times)

Offline josey.mathew

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
polymer which softens at about 60C
« on: June 28, 2007, 04:56:19 AM »
Hi
I am an enginneering student and want to build a 3D printing machine. For that one of the major requirement is a polymer which is hard at room temperature but softens at about 60 degree Celsius. I have heard of polycaprolactone which is most suitable for my design. But I can't find any dealer for the same in India (preferably kerala). Can anyone help.
I would be glad if anyone can give me the procedure for making polycaprolactone in my chemistry lab (if it is possible)
Or
Please suggest any other polymer (which has some dealer in India OR can be easily fabricated)

thanks a lot for your help

Offline eugenedakin

• Oilfield Consulting Chemist
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +88/-2
  • My desk agrees with the law of entropy
    • Personal Website
Re: polymer which softens at about 60C
« Reply #1 on: June 28, 2007, 08:23:37 PM »
Hi josey.mathew

Here is some information that I found on wiki

Polycaprolactone (PCL) is a biodegradable polyester with a low melting point of around 60°C and a glass transition temperature of about −60°C. PCL can be prepared by ring opening polymerization of ε-caprolactone using a catalyst such as stannous octanoate.

Ring opening polymerization of ε-caprolactone to polycaprolactone
This polymer is often used as an additive for resins to improve their processing characteristics and their end use properties (e.g.: impact resistance). Being compatible with a range of other materials, PCL can be mixed with starch to lower its cost and increase biodegradability or it can be added as a polymeric plasticizer to PVC.

Polycaprolactone is also used for splinting, modelling, and as a feedstock for prototype Fused Deposition Modeling systems such as RepRap

This information is found at: