Why iron Fe2+ and Fe3+;

Test
1 (100%)
Test
0 (0%)
Test
0 (0%)

Total Members Voted: 1

Topic: Why iron looses 2 or three electrons to formss Fe2+ and Fe3+?  (Read 21360 times)

Offline Alok

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Hi All,

I am new to this chemistry forum and looking forward to learn few chemistry stuffs. I really need to know that why Iron looses 2 or 3 electrons to form fe2+ and fe3+ ? Does this behaviour occur b'coz of
electons configurations or something else. I also like to request me to
direct me the link where I can find the fundamentals behiend the chemical equations?

Hare Krishna
Alok

Offline exec

• Mole Snacks: +1/-0
Re: Why iron looses 2 or three electrons to formss Fe2+ and Fe3+?
« Reply #1 on: July 06, 2007, 02:20:18 PM »
Electrons are found in orbitals, which are the regions where electrons are highly likely to be located. These orbitals are such as 1s, 2s, 2p, 3s, 3p, 4s, 3d, etc. shown with increasing energy level.

Iron has 26 electrons, thus it can be written as [Ar]3d64s2.

An orbital is considered stable when it is half-filled or fully filled. Thus for the case of 4s, the maximum number of electrons it can contain is 2, and thus the 4s is fully filled, as indicated by the superscript '2'.

Iron loses 2 electrons so that it would have an empty 4s orbital. However, there are still 6 electrons in the 3d orbital, while a 3d orbital is half-filled when there are 5 electrons, or is fully-filled when there are 10 electrons. Thus, Iron 2+ is less stable and it tends to lose an additional electron to form Iron 3+, which has a 3d orbital containing 5 electrons, making it a stable ions.

Offline enahs

• 16-92-15-68 32-7-53-92-16
  • Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +206/-44
« Reply #2 on: July 06, 2007, 03:23:31 PM »
Fe2+ is better represented by not an empty 4s orbital and 6 of 10 3d orbitals, but as:
{Ar} 3d54s1