April 25, 2024, 06:37:24 PM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: atomic mass question  (Read 13371 times)

Offline dearborn333

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
atomic mass question
« on: September 23, 2007, 06:46:13 PM »
Hi everyone,

I am new to chemistry and this board and have an end of the chapter word problem that I'm stuck on.   The chapter only covered the general basics with nothing mentioned about conversions yet, so I don't know why this question is there.  But it may be on our chem exam, so I need to know how to work it out.     
Can someone help me please?   

The question is:   "Indium Oxide contains 4.784g of indium for every 1.000g of oxygen. In 1869, when Mendeleev first presented his version of the periodic table,
he proposed the formula In2O3 for Indium Oxide. Before that time, it was thought that the formula was InO.
What values for the atomic mass of indium are obtained using these two formulas?
Assume that oxygen has an atomic mass of 16.00. "

I am certain that my method of answering this question is wrong, but I need to know why it is wrong.   Can someone help me please?   

This is how I am thinking about it now:   

The atomic mass for indium is 114.8.
114.8 x 2 atoms of indium = 229.6

The atomic mass for oxygen is 16.00
16.00 x 3 atoms of oxygen = 48

229.6 / 48  = 4.78     

Indium contains 4.78 times the weight of oxygen. So I see where THAT number came from in the problem, but don't understand how to find the atomic mass of indum using the two formulas listed.  I want to say that the value of the atomic mass of indium using the new formula In2O3, can be found by taking the mass of one In atom (114.9 and multiplying it by 2 ( totalling 229.6). And to find the mass using the old formula, you multiply the atomic mass number by the number of atoms (1) leaving 114.8.   I am certain that this is incorrect though, because the answer has something to do with the 2/3 ratio, but I need help understanding why and how.