April 25, 2024, 10:25:52 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Will Formaldehyde react with metals?  (Read 13500 times)

Offline IainThomson

• Mole Snacks: +0/-0
Will Formaldehyde react with metals?
« on: October 24, 2007, 05:47:10 AM »
I'm an Electrical Engineer designing the system in a large lab complex. Some of the rooms will be using Formaldehyde in fume cupboards. Does Formaldehyde react with any metals to cause corrosion? In particular will it react in any way with copper from cables/light fittings or aluminium? Same question applies to the fume hood itself, can it cause any corrosion there?

This might seem like a silly question but my chemistry knowledge is almost nonexistent.

Offline IainThomson

Re: Will Formaldehyde react with metals?
« Reply #1 on: October 24, 2007, 06:36:32 AM »
I guess I should also had PVC and Crosslinked polyurethane to this. While I highly doubt it, better to check so the insulation doesnt get worn away at an accelerated rate.

Offline IainThomson

« Reply #2 on: February 06, 2008, 07:24:30 AM »
Totally forgot about this until now, I still need an answer. I kind of put it on the back burner for a while :)

Offline Arkcon

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +533/-147
« Reply #3 on: February 06, 2008, 08:27:03 AM »
I don't know, but there are probably legal specifications, somewhere, outlining the standards to which your construction should meet. 

Just because they said they'll use formaldehyde often, doesn't mean they won't use something worse, at least once in a while. 

On the other hand, if I were to use a reagent called perchloric acid, in a hood that was not designed for it specifically, it could be quite hazardous, but that would be all my fault, not the designers.  So ... catch-22.

I always had the image in my mind that lab hoods were large factory manufactured built-in appliances, not something designed by a building's engineer.  Am I totally off base?  Do you often design custom lab hoods?