April 16, 2024, 05:42:38 AM
Forum Rules: Read This Before Posting

Topic: Applying to Grad school right now  (Read 21354 times)

Offline SM30

• Chemist
  • Mole Snacks: +3/-1
Applying to Grad school right now
« on: October 28, 2007, 01:34:01 PM »
Hi im applying to grad school right now to a decent amount of the top 10 and some safety schools. I'm applying in the field of Organic. I was wondering what you guys thought my chances were. I have a 3.2 gpa from ucla, 730 quant 600 verb GRE scores, I take the subject GRE soon. I have 5 years of research experience (2 as a technician my first two years, 2 for a professor at UCLA, and one for the biopharm company im working at now). I published two papers on self assembly with the UCLA professor (one in jacs and one in org lett). My recs should be pretty good but obviously I waive my right to see them. My main worry is that my gpa will hold me down. I know the research experience is good but do you guys think those admit committees would look past that and focus straight on the grades? One of the professors i had write a rec said that my grades might force me out of the top 10. I dont know if he was being cautious or very serious though.

Offline Mitch

• General Chemist
  • Administrator
  • Mole Snacks: +376/-3
  • "I bring you peace." -Mr. Burns
    • Chemistry Blog
Re: Applying to Grad school right now
« Reply #1 on: October 28, 2007, 08:48:24 PM »
Grades matter, but you seem to be a strong candidate.
Most Common Suggestions I Make on the Forums.
1. Start by writing a balanced chemical equation.
2. Don't confuse thermodynamic stability with chemical reactivity.
3. Forum Supports LaTex

Offline hmx9123

• Retired Staff
  • Mole Snacks: +59/-18
« Reply #2 on: October 29, 2007, 05:28:11 AM »